Memory is fickle…

I need to write this pattern somewhere so that I don’t forget it, and I was going to post it here when I was finished, so I figured I would kill 2 birds with 1 stone and I’ll post a picture when it’s done. It’s a really simple pattern, but it has a lot of repeats at different intervals, that’s the only reason I would forget it.

As I mentioned before, I am working on a variation of the Drop Stitch Ribbon scarf that I linked to in my last post, but with a few twists. I’m working with two different sized needles, and instead of just working 4 rows of St st, I am increasing the amount of solid scarf as the pattern progresses. Rather than post a huge long point form thing, I’m going to cut off after this sentence, click the link to read the pattern.

Needles: 4mm (US 6) and 8mm (US 11) needles or size needed to work with yarn (gauge, smauge!)

NOTE: This patter in worked in steps rather than rows to keep me from getting confused.

340 g ball of Red Heart Comfort Prints.

Cast on 35 with 4mm needles, then use 1 4mm and 1 8mm needle.

  1. knit 3 rows in garter stitch
  2. 4th row, knit 1(k1), yarn over(yo) twice, end with k1
  3. 5th row, *k, slip yo’s off, rep from * to last st, end with k1 (these 2 steps create a stringy section that look like really long knitted sts)
  4. knit 4 rows in garter st
  5. rep step 3
  6. rep step 1 through 3
  7. rep steps 4 and 5
  8. k 6 rows
  9. rep step 3 – 5
  10. k 6 rows
  11. rep steps 2 & 3
  12. k 8 rows
  13. steps 2&3 again
  14. k 6 rows
  15. you guessed it, steps 2&3
  16. k 8 rows
  17. not saying it again (well actually, yes I am, a hell of a lot more)
  18. k 10 rows
  19. step 2 and 3
  20. k 8 rows
  21. steps 2 and 3
  22. k 10 rows
  23. steps 2 and 3
  24. k 12 rows
  25. steps 2 and three
  26. now work backwards through the pattern, and bind off with the 4mm needles.
  27. garnish with something fun such as beaded fringe (wood beads don’t get as cold, and can be stained fun colors) or fringe. I may take on crocheting some leaves, if I do, I’ll post the pattern when I’m done.

I know that was confusing, but trust me, as long as you don’t get lost on the way back, it will be fine! The pattern is really great because you can continue to knit longer solid pieces until the end, and you end up with a fun asymmetry. You could also go crazy and fiddle around with random amount of rows for the solids, or yarn over 3 or 4 times for longer stringy bits. Conversely, you can work the entire scarf using steps 2 and 3 to have a very airy scarf (though it would probably get tangled a lot so I would use a bulky weight yarn for that type of project.) Yeah, I’m pretty gay right now.

One Response

  1. […] knitting, scarf, star afghan I finished it! The scarf that I have been working on for 5 days (pattern) is finished, and it looks amazing! I was worried about the warmth factor, but the width of the […]

Leave a comment